Maine Developmental

Disabilities Council

Click below to navigate to that section:

About the Council

Upcoming Meeting Dates

Current Council Members

Minutes from Past Meetings

Other Council Documents

About the Council

MDDC’s specific priorities are shaped by its governing council. The Council has 25 members.

Membership consists of:

  • 17 Governor appointed members. Of these:
    • at least 1/3 must be adults with developmental disabilities (DD)
    • at least 1/3 must be parents of children with DD or family members of adults with DD who are unable to advocate for themselves
    • 2 represent non-governmental/local agencies that provide services for individuals with DD
    • the remaining seats can be any combination of the first two designations listed above.
  • 6 members who represent State agencies administering federally-funded programs related to persons with disabilities.
  • 2 members represent the Council’s sister agencies, the Disability Rights Center and the Center for Community Inclusion and Disability Studies at the University of Maine, Orono.

If you are interested in learning about becoming a Council member, click here.


Council meetings are open to the public. Please contact us if you would like to attend a meeting.

May 13, 2020

July 15, 2020

September 9, 2020

November 18, 2020


Ann Belanger
Department of Education

Gayle Chambers
Family Member

Alan Cobo-Lewis
Center for Community Inclusion & Disability Studies

Staci Converse
Disability Rights Maine

Deb Davis (Co-Chair)
Family Member

Derek Fales
Dept. of Health & Human Services (Title XIX Adult Svs. rep)

Roy Fowler
Dept. of Education, Child Development Services

Maryann Harakall
Dept. of Health & Human Services, Children with Special Health Care Needs

Maggie Hoffman
Family Member

Shannon Johnson
Family Member

Jon McGovern

Kile Pelletier

Courtnay Putnam
Non-governmental Agency/Direct Service Provider Rep

Denise Ranger
Family Member

Marc Roix (Co-Chair) 

Monique Stairs
Local Non-governmental Agency Representative - SUFU

Cheryl Stalilonis
Family Member

Sarah Trites

Suzanne Primiano
Department of Labor(Rehabilitation Svs rep)

Tracey Webb
Family Member

Jean Youde
Family Member


Click on the links below for pdf's of recent Council meeting minutes

September 11, 2019 

July 17, 2019

May 8, 2019

I know the signs of healthy child development.

Maine Developmental Disabilities Council
225 Western Avenue, Suite 4
Augusta, ME 04330
Phones: 207-287-42131-800-244-3990