Maine Developmental Disabilities Council Meeting Minutes

September 13, 2017

Agenda Item	Hand outs	Highlights	Motions
Call to Order	No	Denise Ranger, Vice-Chair, called the meeting to order at 10:05 am.	
Review of Minutes	Yes	• The July 19, 2017 Council meeting minutes were provided and reviewed.	 (Youde/Roix): To accept the July 19, 2017 meeting minutes. Passed unanimously
Staff Update	No	Council Staff provided on update on Council projects and activities.	
DRM Presentation	No	• Katrina Ringrose and Ben Jones from Disability Rights Maine provided a presentation on DRM's recently released reports on restraint and seclusion and the use of law enforcement in residential settings.	
OCFS Presentation	No	• Cheryl Hathaway provided an update on current activities within the Office of Child and Family Services and responded to member questions. The Council will be drafting and submitting specific questions for a more in depth report.	
Community Inclusion Position Statement	Yes	• Members worked in small groups and then as a whole to review and edit the draft Community Inclusion Position Statement. Staff will incorporate the requested changes and bring an updated draft back for further review and approval.	
SUFU Presentation	No	David Unger, Executive Director of Speaking Up For Us provided an update on SUFU activities.	
Finance Committee	Yes	The July 2017 Budget vs. Actual was provided and reviewed.	
Executive Committee	Yes	 Minutes from the most recent Executive Committee were provided. The Committee recommended that the Council continue the practice of holding one meeting in February in place of meetings in both January and March. The full Council supported that recommendation. 	
Adjournment	No	The meeting was adjourned	

Council Members in

Attendance:

Jan Breton

Alan Cobo-Lewis

Staci Converse

Deb Davis

Roy Fowler

Cheryl Hathaway (for Teresa

Barrows)

Shannon Johnson

Denise Ranger

Marc Roix

Karen Sites

Monique Stairs

Emilee Taplin-Lacy

Sarah Trites

Wendy Warren

Jean Youde

Council Members Absent

Kate Quinn Finlay Kile Pelletier Chris Powers Jeff Shapiro Hillary Steinau

Monica Wood

Staff in Attendance

Nancy Cronin Rachel Dyer Donald Johnson Erin Howes Angela Burgess